The first country in the world to legally recognize same-sex partnerships in 1989, Denmark yesterday passed a marriage equality law by an overwhelming 85 – 24 vote in parliament. The new law goes into effect June 15th.

Couples will be able to marry in church if they wish, and amenable clergy will be permitted to officiate.

Denmark becomes the eighth European country and the 11th worldwide to pass a marriage equality law. Countries with nationwide marriage equality laws are Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain and Sweden.