The New York Times and Washington Post are reporting that Sonia Sotomayor – a Hispanic, Catholic, female appellate court judge – is going to be the Obama Administration pick for the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS). The official announcement will come at 10:15AM EDT (7:15AM PDT).

At 10:00AM PDT (1:00PM EDT), the California Supreme Court is going to rule on the Prop 8 challenge.

Two Questions:

• Do you think the timing of this Supreme Court pick is designed to coincide with the California Supreme Court ruling? This will definitely force Republicans to discuss gay marriage and other social issues that will no doubt further their party image as one that seeks to divide America over social issues. (Am I being too cynical?)

• Do you think we’ll get an official Obama Administration statement on the Prop 8 ruling? We didn’t get statements on other recent events related to same gender marriage/marriage equality rulings and votes — Do you think because of the Supreme Court pick (a focus on the law day) that the administration will have to respond, or do you think they’ll just try to keep quiet?

~~~~~

Further Reading:

* Los Angeles Times: No judging how a justice will turn out; The upbringing and life experiences of Supreme Court picks are not always reliable predictors of where they stand legally.

* Google News: Sonia Sotomayor Quotes

~~~~~

Related:

* AP: Sonia Sotomayor is Obama’s SCOTUS pick

* Day of Decision Confirmed: Tuesday, May 26th